Ad
Ad
Ad
Articles

SUCCESS TRANSFORMATION STORY – SHEENA MACEWEN

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr
SUCCESS TRANSFORMATION STORY–COACH VICTORIA TOFFAN
CONGRATULATIONS SHEENA MACEWEN

Location:
Elmira, Ontario

Occupation:
Caseworker

Tell me about yourself and why you decided to make a change to your health
I am a mom of 2 girls, Kinsley (5) and Cameron (3) and a wife to my husband, Mark. I have always had an interest in fitness. Growing up, I was in Jujitsu and competitive swimming. About a year before my wedding (2016), I started in the gym with weights and fell in love with it. I have been viewed as the “fit friend” and a lot of my goals were fitness-related since I enjoyed the challenge. However, I struggled a bit after my second child. My maternity leave was over Covid and the isolation and the demands of motherhood made it hard to stay consistent. I fluctuated in weight a lot and really lost all interest in fitness when I went back to work in 2021. I had stopped working out and eating healthy and was not feeling like myself. My patience was wearing thin, and I felt like I was stressed a lot. Exercise has always been a way to ground myself, but I just couldn’t get myself there. I needed someone to kick my butt back in gear and hold my self-accountable if I was going to feel like myself again. My sister had heard of Vic and pushed me to try her first 60-day shred. Vic was great and the weekly check-ins really helped. She was so supportive and encouraging, as I felt like I was starting from scratch again fitness and health-wise. By the end of the 60-day shred, I had lost a considerable amount of weight and found my passion for fitness again. Now I am back to being that “fit friend”. Vic not only helped me get back into exercising again, but she has taught me a considerable amount to help push myself beyond my limits. I have never been as strong as I am now, and I look forward to what more my body can achieve.

In your opinion weight loss more of a fitness issue or a health issue and why?
I think they sort of work together. I think fitness can help a lot with mental health which I believe can influence weight loss or weight gain. Not everyone has to be intense in the gym to incorporate fitness, walking is a simple form of fitness I believe.

If you have 100 tokens in total and you could apply them to the following categories, how many would you apply to each?

  • Fitness level: 50
  • Health level: 50

What was the biggest challenge you have faced on your journey?
My biggest challenge was letting go of other people’s opinions of me and not having to explain “my why” to anyone. As well as wearing my accomplishments proud.

Training Plan:
Vic has me currently doing German Volume Training to try and gain more muscle. I work out 4 days a week doing upper body 2 days and lower body 2 days. I also do 35 minutes of cardio 4 days a week.

Nutritional Plan:
I am still counting my macros. It is a great tool to assist in gaining muscle mass.

Supplement Plan:
Right now, I just take protein powder as a supplement.

Do you prefer to take and recommend all-natural (no sugar, no artificial colours/flavours/ sweeteners) supplements or supplements with artificial flavours and sweeteners/ and why?
I honestly do not have a preference. I eat what I enjoy the taste of.

Can you share with us about your experience with Vic?
I have nothing but great things to say. She is so knowledgeable and kind. It has been a dream working with Vic; she has pushed me beyond what I believed my limits. She has also taught me a lot about weightlifting and nutrition which has changed my lifestyle.

When it comes to eating well, what are your top 3 recommendations?

  • Balance, everything in moderation.
  • Eat enough protein. I add protein to every meal and snack.
  • Drink plenty of water

How did you manage to alter your eating patterns and accommodate the rest of your family?
This was a little tricky as my oldest is a very picky eater, so mealtime has always been a struggle. I try my best to serve the same thing my husband and I are eating, but I make sure there is something being served that the kids would eat. I am also no Martha Stewart, so meals are mostly meat, veggies and carbs. This makes it easy to portion according to my macros and to ensure there is something being served the kids will eat.

Take us through a typical day in your life for you
We are a typical suburban family! As much as I would love to be a morning workout person, I am not. I often stay up too late, or the kids wake me up, so I am always tired. But a typical day during the week would be to wake up around 6:30 a.m. and get the kids ready for school and myself ready for work (my husband is often gone early). I then drop kids off at school and I go to work. I am fortunate enough to work out on my lunch at the gym down the street. This is often when I do my weight training. Then I come home around 5 pm, chauffeur my kids around to their activities and make supper. Then my husband gets home, we eat supper, and he does the bedtime routine so I can fit in my cardio during the week. After cardio, I usually meal prep for the next day. Then while the girls are sleeping my husband and I often clean up the house a bit and then hang out usually watching a movie or TV show.

On weekends it is normally a free-for-all. I usually take Saturdays and Sundays as rest days since the girls keep us busy enough. There is usually some park visit over the course of the weekend.

If you could ask Status Fitness Magazine editor-in-chief Rodney Jang an industry question, what would it be
What do you think the fitness industry will look like in 5 years?

Can you share with us your goals for fitness and life?
Right now, I am focusing on trying to gain more muscle. Maybe some fun goals as well, like increasing my pull-up count. A personal life goal, I guess you can call it a bucket list, would be to do a famous hike one day. Somewhere up a large mountain with spectacular views.

5 things people don’t know about you?

  • I am a sucker for sauced chicken fingers and fries.
  • I belt out songs like I am Beyonce, but I do not sound like her in the slightest way.
  • I do not like caramel or butterscotch
  • I love weddings, mainly for the dancing. But I do love, love!
  • I can listen to a song a million times and will never know all the lyrics to that song.

What is the biggest lesson you have learned?
I am sure a lot of moms can relate but make time for me. It will always benefit me and everyone around me.

5 most important attributes you see in a person?

  • Honesty
  • Kindness
  • Sense of humor
  • Empathetic
  • Hard-working

If you could inspire one person who would it be? And why?
I would say there are 2 people, my daughters. I want to inspire them to be strong women who believe in themselves and work hard for their goals.

Who inspires you and why?
I think I see inspiration in many people but in different traits. I am most inspired when someone can push through their fears and go after their goals while overcoming the challenges they face. I feel fear can hold me back too often, and I chip away at one day at a time.

What is your number one tip for people on their fitness journey?
You can’t always rely on motivation, discipline and consistency are key.

Avatar photo

I am a content and talent manager of Status Fitness Magazine. If you are looking to share your story or get featured in Status, contact me.

Write A Comment