Julie Mcgraa


With this season’s first show on the West Coast now in the books, we would like to congratulate the powerhouse duo of Leigh and Dean Brandt, for yet again putting on such an amazing event. From the hardworking CPA judges, to incredible athletes,  promoters, fantastic presenters, and LBMC volunteers, this show set the precedence for the rest of the year. Leigh and Dean always put their hearts and souls into each show and it was seen by everyone who had the opportunity to either compete or attend. The LBMC seen many familiar faces from seasoned competitors to those who are just beginning the competition journey. It goes without saying that each and every athlete brought their A game. The LBMC hosted 191 competitors, including crossovers.. Making this a night to remember for all the athletes.

Representing Status Fitness Magazine at the LBMC was Editor-in-Chief Rodney Jang and photographer Zack Taylor

Novice Mens BB – Gold –Junior Mens BB – Gold #91 Josh Mackenzie (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Grandmaster Mens BB – Gold – #90 Shane Rooks ​(Photo: Zack Taylor)

Mens Open BB Lightweight – Gold – #98 Ryan Fianza (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Mens Open BB Middleweight – Gold –Spotlight Award Winner- #99 Andrew Kersten (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Master Mens BB – Gold- Mens Open BB Heavyweight – Gold Best Poser Award –Best Overall Award #201 Clint Hiles (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Novice Mens Classic – Gold – #106 Jerret Vaughn (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Masters Mens Classic – Gold – #94 Jason Mctaggart (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Open Mens Classic Physique A – Gold – #110 Matus Kucharek (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Open Mens Classic B Physique – Gold – #113 Brendan Banser (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Junior Mens Physique – Gold – #93 Mingxuan Shang (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Grandmaster Mens Physique – Gold –Masters Mens Physique – Gold #125 Eddie Parinas (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Mens Physique Short – Gold –Novice Mens Physique – Gold #115 Clark Doherty (Photo: Zack Taylor)

(Mens Physique Medium – Gold – #111 Zachary Khan)

Mens Physique Tall – Gold –Best Overall Award – Gold #133 Matthew Fox (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Novice Women’s Physique – Gold – #135 Monika Podgorski . ​(Photo: Zack Taylor)

Masters Women’s Physique – Gold –Women’s Physique Open – Gold-Women’s Open Bodybuilding – Gold #136 Sarah Boes (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Novice Women’s Bodybuilding – Gold – #137 Afsaneh Ahmadi Moghaddam (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Best Poser Award – #138 Morgan Neufeld (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Novice Figure – Gold – #145 Kassidy Maclean (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Grandmasters Figure – Gold – #140 Donna Laplante (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Masters Figure – Gold – #134 Chrissie Ohlund (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Open Figure Short – Gold – #204 Whitney Edwards (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Open Figure Tall – Gold – #145 Kassidy Maclean (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Novice Bikini – Gold – #153 Alessa Vicente (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Grandmasters Bikini – Gold – #167 Jennifer Singleton (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Masters Bikini – Gold – #177 Chelsea Tapanainen (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Open Bikini Short – Gold – #153 Alessa Vicente (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Open Bikini Medium – Gold – #161 Cathy Wong (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Open Bikini Medium Tall – Gold – #177 Chelsea Tapanainen (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Open Bikini Tall – Gold – #198 Nicole Bates and Bikini Overall Award Winner (Photo: Zack Taylor)

Stage Photography By: Zack Taylor

Columbus, Ohio – Six-Hundred of the top amateur competitors from around the world competed in 12th Annual Arnold Amateur NPC Bodybuilding, Fitness, Figure, Bikini & Physique Championships at Battelle Grand and the Greater Columbus Convention Center March 1-3, 2018 as a part of the 2018 Arnold Sports Festival.

2018 Overall Winners (competitor #’s)

Men’s Bodybuilding – Mikhail Volinkin of Uzbekistan (504)

Classic Physique – Lucas Disanti of USA (406)

Men’s Physique – Kevin Nguyen of USA (300)

Women’s Physique – Christelle Zarovska of Netherlands (14)

Fitness – Milica Narancic of USA (102)

Figure – Lola Montez of Canada (122)

Masters Figure – Andrea Green USA (47)

Bikini – Sonia Lewis of USA (226)

Masters Bikini – Nadirah Baldwin of USA (96)

“The Arnold Amateur is one of the biggest international events of its kind, this year 50 more athletes than last year competed, and they represented 55 different countries,” said Bob Lorimer, president of Classic Productions Inc. and the event’s co-producer along with Mike Davies of Mike Davies Fitness Universe.  “We are fortunate to collaborate with such a fantastic partner in Jim Manion, president of the Nation Physique Committee who helps us bring together so many talented competitors.”

The 2018 Arnold Amateur served as an official pro qualifier for the IFBB Pro League. Overall winners in Men’s Bodybuilding, Classic Physique, Men’s and Women’s Physique, Fitness, Figure and Bikini received professional status to compete in the IFBB Pro League and automatic invites to compete in IFBB Pro League events at the 2019 Arnold Sports Festival. Raphael Ray (615) and Ashley Blair (191) also received pro status for finishing second overall in men’s physique and bikini, respectively.

Previous Arnold Amateur winners who have competed as professionals include: Paul Poloczek, Kate Errington, Cong Mou, Priscila Cavilha, Lukas Wyler, Giorgia Fiorini, Janaina Ferreira da Silva, Matthias Botthof, Essa Obaid, Roelly Winklaar, Tarek Ellsetorhi, Diana Monteiro, Elena Shportun, Marie Garmen Gomez, Sylvia Tremblay and Noemi Olah.

Overall winners received tickets to the Arnold Classic finals and were recognized on stage and photographed with Arnold Schwarzenegger. Overall winners also received a specially-designed Cardillo USA Weightbelt and 6 Pack Fitness Backpacks courtesy of Gaspari Nutrition.  Class winners received Tony Nowak Arnold Classic champions jacket while the top five in each class received trophies.